Toyota Gazoo’s No. 8 car wins 24 Hours Le Mans for third year

LE MANS, France — Toyota Gazoo’s No. 8 car comfortably won the 24 Hours Le Mans by five laps from Rebellion No. 1 on Sunday to secure a third straight victory in the prestigious endurance race.

It was also a third consecutive win for Swiss driver Sebastien Buemi and Japan’s Kazuki Nakajima driving. Brendon Hartley was the other driver, having replaced two-time Formula One champion Fernando Alonso.

Buemi and Hartley sat on the side of the car as Nakajima drove toward the podium. Hartley won for a second time after tasting success with the Porsche LMP Team in 2017 before an unhappy season in Formula One.

The Swiss team’s Rebellion No. 1 featured American driver Gustavo Menezes and Brazilian Bruno Senna — the nephew of late F1 great Ayrton Senna.

It finished one lap ahead of Toyota Gazoo’s No. 7, with Rebellion’s No. 3 finishing in fourth place.

For much of the race it looked like Toyota’s No. 7 would win after leading comfortably from pole position. But late into the night the car encountered an engine problem and the 30-minute stop in the stands proved costly.

The race was first held in 1923. A total of 252,500 spectators attended in 2019, but there were none this year when the race started three months late because of the coronavirus pandemic.

“We miss the fans,” New Zealander Hartley said. “I look forward to seeing all the fans again.”

Toyota No. 7 took pole after former F1 driver Kamui Kobayashi narrowly edged out the Rebellion No. 1 team in qualifying.

In damp and humid conditions Mike Conway got away cleanly from the start, while Senna held off Buemi.

After nearly seven hours, Toyota’s No. 8 fell back after a 10-minute stop in the stands to fix a brake-cooling problem on Kazuki Nakajima’s

Read More

As Brad Pitt, Jennifer Aniston make fans swoon in virtual reunion, Lili Reinhart appeals to leave them alone

Lili Reinhart has an “unpopular opinion” about audiences swooning over Brad Pitt and Jennifer Aniston’s recent online reunion.

“Can we just leave Jennifer and Brad alone?” she appealed on Twitter yesterday, Sept. 19 after clips of their reunion were widely shared online.

Some of Hollywood’s biggest names gathered for a virtual table read of the 1980s classic “Fast Times at Ridgemont High”, including original cast member Sean Penn.

Even with a star-studded cast, audiences could not help notice the chemistry between former spouses Brad Pitt and Jennifer Aniston during the virtual event on Thursday, Sept. 17.

Other stars who joined the read were Julia Roberts, Morgan Freeman, Matthew McConaughey, Shia LaBeouf, John Legend, Henry Golding, Dane Cook and Ray Liotta.

Just the moment of Pitt and Aniston greeting each other by their last names drew fans’ attention on social media.

A popular clip involved their respective high school characters, Brad Hamilton and Linda Barrett, particularly when Brad daydreams about Linda while masturbating, and Linda catches him in the act.

The actors could be seen appearing amused and awkward at the scene — Roberts for her part was grinning.

But Reinhart was not onboard with fans shipping the exes.

“Stop analyzing their every move and facial expression whenever they’re involved in something together,” she said. “Let them live their lives in peace.”

Read More

Biggest ever Ballon d’Or victories: Lionel Messi edges out Cristiano Ronaldo for top spot

Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo were both out of the running for this year’s Ballon d’Or so that means, no one is allowed to win it in 2020…

Well, that’s how it feels because if either one of them were in contention, then there’s surely no way France Football would have cancelled their annual ceremony.

Bayern Munich superstar Robert Lewandowski is naturally most aggrieved considering both the collective and individual success he enjoyed in 2019/20.

The Pole was the top scorer in every club competition he featured in, firing Bayern to a historic treble of trophies.

He would have won the Ballon d’Or by an absolute landslide, perhaps even the biggest winning margin ever. It’s not to be, although it did get us thinking about dominant Ballon d’Or victories of the past.

Messi and Ronaldo feature strongly, of course, but what did they and others achieve to record such massive wins?

1. 2011 Lionel Messi  47.88%

Messi wasn’t shocked he won in 2011, but he was jolted by the margin of victory. “I was a bit surprised with the big gap between me and the number two. Cristiano Ronaldo and Xavi would have been worthy winners as well,” he told France Football after winning a third-successive Ballon d’Or. It is to date the widest win ever – albeit narrowly, true to the trend of his rivalry with Ronaldo – and justifiably so because this iteration of Barcelona is arguably the greatest club side ever and Messi was otherworldly. In 2010-11 no one scored more (53 goals) or created more (24 assists) and he led Barca in goals, assists, passes and dribbles. They won La Liga and the Champions League with Messi scoring in the semi-final and final of the latter.

2. 2016 Cristiano Ronaldo 47.84%

BeFunky-collage (54)

This is maybe the most

Read More